Broncbusters dominate all-conference awards

Broncbusters dominate all-conference awards

Garden City, KS-What Jeff Sims envisioned two years ago at his opening press conference, has steadily come to fruition right in front of his eyes. 

On Tuesday, the roster that he and his coaches put together over the past 24 months finally got the recognition that they deserved. 

Sophomore cornerback Mike Hughes was named Jayhawk Conference Defensive player of the year, while eight of his teammates were selected to the all-conference first team. 

On offense, redshirt freshman running Tra Minter was the lone Broncbuster to make the first team. Minter led the nation in rushing yards with 1,234 and became the first Garden City player to rush for 1,000 yards since Nick Marshall did it in 2012. 

Tackle Cody Jennings  and guard Sean Callahan were named to the second team while wide receivers Daniel Davis and Jayru Campbell, who began the year as the starting quarterback; center Nathan Hale and true-freshman quarterback Peyton Huslig were honorable mentions. 

On defense, reigning national defensive player of the year Jeremy Faulk made the first team along with Hawaii-transfer Jamie Tago, linebackers Delshawn Phillips and Alex Figueroa and safeties Bryan Blunt and Eddie Williams

Safety Rashaun Croney, who was second on the team with six interceptions, made the second team. Linebacker Gabe Luyanda was honorable mention all-defense. 

Jeff Sims was named Coach of the Year following his team's 10-0 regular season. He leads Garden City into their first national title game in 16 years.